2 comments so far
September 10, 2003

5:48 p.m.: Why is everyone I know getting married?

Why is everyone I know getting married? It seems as though every time I talk to someone they either are getting married, know someone who has gotten engaged or has recently been to or in a wedding. It feels like an epidemic, a Noah's Arc Syndrome of 20-somethings, everyone must pair up before you turn 30 or your life will be over. What compels a 22-year-old person to drop everything and consider questions like "If we have the wedding in the summer as opposed to fall can I still have my bridesmaids wear maroon dresses?"

What is really sad is the syndrome is contagious which I guess makes it more of a virus. I myself am not ready to get married, I am about ready to quit my job and go back to school and in general I just don�t feel like wife material yet. But ever since my roommate (2 years my junior at 22) announced her engagement I have been catching myself browsing wedding magazines, imagining flower arrangements and occasionally giving my boyfriend the evil eye for not having proposed to me by now.

Can someone please explain all this to me? Until I figure this out I will just have to continue telling my boyfriend that I am not giving him "a look" I just have something in my eye.