0 comments so far
September 12, 2003

3:44 p.m.: feng shui

feng shui(fng shw)n.: The Chinese art or practice of positioning objects, especially graves, buildings, and furniture, based on a belief in patterns of yin and yang and the flow of chi that have positive and negative effects.

My office is currently being feng shuied. Now, I am not usually one to bash other cultures beliefs but in this case I am bashing, and bashing hard. The worst part of this whole thing is that we did not have a staff meeting to discuss the shuing, I just came in one day and all my stuff had been moved around and there were mirrors and plants everywhere. Not only that, I am not allowed to move the mirrors or plants because they are strategically placed to balance my chi, energy or whatever. The plants are okay but the mirrors have to go. I am supposed to now be able see people coming and going behind me but all I can see is myself, typing, eating, whatever and that just cannot be.

There are also now wind chimes everywhere, even inside where there is no wind (you would think they would put them by a window...nope). Now that has to be a chi up setter even if it is just for the windchimes, an object that cannot fulfill its one purpose in life...? There is also talk of crystals being placed in my northwest corner, someone save me.

It is interesting to note that the first round of plants we had all died within days and that has to say something about the environment here. Call it whatever you want but I doubt feng shui is going to do much good. Did I mention that this is costing the company more than I make in 4 months? Not that I am bitter or anything.