1 comments so far
September 16, 2003

8:55 a.m.: Application

I have come to the realization that college applications have been carefully designed to make the applicant feel unaccomplished and boring. Either that, or as in my case, turn the applicant into a brilliant fiction writer.

My application for business school deviates little from the one I created for my undergraduate work. It asks all the basic questions, name, address etc. but then towards the end of the first page it begins to get dodgy. �Please list any extracurricular activities and/or hobbies you enjoy�. Now the eternal question, do I tell the truth? It is assumed that the committee reviewing the applications is looking for hobbies and extracurricular activities that positively reflect on the business savvy of the applicant, showing them as socially responsible leaders in their community and therefore the kind of student they want in their MBA program. Unfortunately I do not believe my hobbies fall under this description.

Hobbies and extracurricular activities: Buying useless products from infomercials, playing my Xbox until my eyes hurt and carpal tunnel sets in, cleaning my apartment, looking at peoples discarded ATM receipts to see if they have more money in the bank than me.

With this kind of a list I have been forced to get a little creative. Things I have done once or just a couple of times have become life long passions and a few activities have been messaged a bit to make them sound more interesting.

Hobbies and extracurricular activities (as they appear on my application so far): Hiking, reading and writing and orchid cultivation.

I have been hiking a total of 5 times in my life. I thought hiking made me seem adventurous and competent? I do enjoy reading, in fact I read quite a bit. However the type of books I read may not be exactly what the committee is looking for. 19th century Victorian writers do not exactly show a head for business. And as for orchid cultivation, I own orchids and try to keep them alive; I think this deserves the title of cultivator.