0 comments so far
September 22, 2003

9:15 a.m.: Umpa Lumpas

More and more as I look in the mirror I feel likeViolet Beauregardefrom Willy Wanka and the Chocolate Factory. Rapidly expanding to the size of a small planet and popping the belt on my purple jumper. I only hope I can take care of things before I become so large that I need to be rolled by a herd of tiny green men to the juicing department to be righted. A major diet is needed and fast. The problem is I am seriously lacking motivation right now. How bad does it need to get before I finally say �Pass me my that celery stick and those running shoes�. I suppose I should stop waiting for an epiphany and just join the Atkins band wagon or the like. Anything has to be better then the shame I feel when I look in the mirror.

On a happier note the application is going well. I am almost done with my resume, which looks better than I thought it would. My statement of purpose is more or less completed and my letter of recommendation packets I am making for my recommenders are almost completed. The last hurdle is studying for the GMAT, the standardized test required for business school. It�s almost exactly set up like the SAT with a math section and a writing section. The writing section should be easy, I wasn�t an English major for nothing. It�s the math section that I am dreading. Ever since I can remember math has been my enemy. I can vividly remember my mother sitting with me as a young person, trying to teach me basic math. These sessions always ended up with her so frustrated she could not speak and me feeling so stupid that I was sobbing. All throughout school my report cards always looked the same, all A�s or B+�s and one lone C mockingly bringing down my GPA. The SAT was a joke and I was ecstatic to learn that college meant no more math classes�ever. Now with the GMAT a little more than a month away I am starting to panic. My boyfriend has graciously volunteered to help me, as an engineer he lives for math. I am reluctant however, because I am sure this would end up being a relationship breaker and I am not prepared to tell people that Matt and I broke up over the Pythagorean Theorem. The saddest part of all this is that my GMAT study book begins the math review section by teaching about integers and the difference between positive and negative numbers. As much as I would like to laugh at this and feel superior because I of course know the difference between positive and negative numbers�I feel grateful that the book has correctly assumed that I, although described as quite bright, have the math knowledge of one of the preschoolers my roommate teaches.

Goals for today: Learn math and avoid anything that resembles a singing little person with orange hair.