1 comments so far
October 01, 2003

4:37 p.m.: Self-Esteem

Mini breakdown #3, since I started this diary, happened last night and of course it was when I was with Matt. This one was triggered by my ever-growing hatred of the way I look. I have become convinced that there is no way that Matt can find me the slightest bit attractive due to my weight gain and my failure to resemble the plethora of girly pictures he carries around with him on his PDA. Matt, the innocent and sweet natured boyfriend that he is proceeded to tell me that he would be more than willing to help me if I wanted to change the way I look but that I should know that he loves me no matter what I look like. I so wanted to believe him and then I realized that the clich� was true, you cannot believe others love you unless you love yourself. My self-loathing is beginning to overshadow Matt�s expressions of love�and that�s not cool.

So the question is, how do I overcome 24 years of low self-esteem so that I do not ruin my relationship with my boyfriend, someone I can picture spending the rest of my life with. (Side Note: Ironically I work for company that promotes high self esteem, the CEO being a motivational speaker and creator of some of the best known self-esteem products in the country). The answer unfortunately is I don�t know. I have made a step forward however. After over a year of hating my psychiatrist, a 60 year old woman that takes pleasure in seeing drugs fail on me and who talks about herself more then we talk about me, I have obtained a referral to see a new one who has been described to me as �the best in the biz�. We will ignore the use of the word biz for now so we can focus on getting the depression thing under control. Now I just need to call and make an appointment. Part of me is frustrated to have to start all over with a new doctor but luckily the other half is excited to see someone that might actually be able to help me.

Unrelated note to self: Schedule a mammogram for this month, October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.