0 comments so far
October 09, 2003

9:55 a.m.: GMAT, Halloween and other things I dread.

First off, thanks to everyone who has been leaving me supportive notes and entries in my guestbook. It is pretty cool that almost complete strangers feel compelled to reach out to an equally unknown person.

Day 3 of Weigh Watchers is going well. I am amazed at what I can eat and still remain on course. Counting the points of everything I put into my mouth is kind of a of a pain but I have a feeling it will get easier as time goes on. The other day it took me 30min. to put a salad together because I had to check everything I cut up to go in it. Gretchen has been having fun looking through the points guide and finding out what the highest food is. We discovered that if I wanted to have a caramel latte at Starbucks and a muffin I wouldn�t be able to eat for the next two days but I could eat two cans of black beans for dinner and still have enough points to eat a big breakfast and lunch.

In other news, I am becoming more and more panic ridden as the date approaches to take the GMAT. Time is just flying by and I have found myself more and more snapping at people who ask me what I am planning to be for Halloween because when Halloween does arrive I will only have two days before the test. Normally I wouldn�t answer, �So, Stephanie, any costume ideas for Halloween?� with �No, I hate Halloween, go away� but stress has taken over and I can�t control myself.

The truth is is that I have never been a great fan of Halloween. As a kid I would always get sick while Trick-or-Treating and the pressure of finding the perfect costume to wear to school was just too much for me. As I got older I started to enjoy the holiday somewhat, I liked passing out candy to the kids that came by, but know with Halloween marking a closer test time I am right back to hating it.

I suppose if I studied a little more for the test I wouldn�t be so stressed. I find that when I am anxious about something I tend to procrastinate more thinking that if I don�t face it the anxiety will go away, the opposite is in fact true. It has gotten so bad that lately when I get the feeling that I should be studying I go and lie down until it passes. I used to only do this when I had the feeling to exercise which helps to explain the need for Weight Watchers. Maybe I should look at it positively; I have grown and am now expanding my apathetic horizons to include greatly important tests that could determine my future career goals.