1 comments so far
October 10, 2003

12:20 p.m.: Biblical Tortillas

After joining Weight Watchers on Monday I went to the market to buy some healthy, life style changing food. It was also about time to visit the market anyway, between the two of us Gretchen and I had some salad dressing, Ketchup and a variety of moldy fruits and vegetables. I visited a trendy health food establishment that I love. Everything is organic and it caters to vegetarians and vegans (although it has a quite extensive meat market�go figure). Among other things, I picked up some whole-wheat tortillas that looked interesting. They looked like they had been ground by hand and cooked over an open flame; they would be perfect for the black bean salsa recipe I got at my meeting.

I forgot about the tortillas until the next morning when I was making myself a breakfast burrito. While I was waiting for the pan to heat I noticed the name on the packaging, Ezekiel 4:9 and right above this the corresponding bible verse. I had purchased biblical tortillas. The verse mentioned various grains favored by the Lord, which just so happened, were also in the tortillas. This raised a few questions. Do clergy members only eat Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas, banning all others for their lack of God faring ingredients? If I have sinned but then go and eat a few Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas will I be redeemed? Was this simply a marketing ploy or did the makers of Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas actually believe there were following the word of God and in creating this Mexican favorite? Your guess is as good as mine.