2 comments so far
October 15, 2003

1:36 p.m.: The 6 Pound Mark

I had my second Weight Watchers meeting Monday, the first after I started the plan. I surprisingly lost 6 pounds the first week, which made me pretty excited. What I wasn�t excited about was what I received as a reward. I was asked if I could be presented with my 5-pound weight loss award at the meeting and I agreed. Now, I would have been happy with just losing the 6 pounds, but now with the idea of a reward in my head I was gitty. When my name was called and I rose in front of the group I was given a red bookmark that said, �I lost 5 Pounds!� I am not exactly sure who came up with this idea as a means of a reward but I am pretty sure they have not made their living in the accolade business. Was this bookmark supposed to spur me on to lose an additional 5 pounds somehow? Am I now supposed to be so eager to get another bookmark, maybe this time in green, that I will avoid that extra helping of pasta and run that extra mile?

All I could imagine when I sat down after my presentation was what the meeting to discuss weight loss rewards must have been like. A group of newly thin people sitting in a Weight Watchers board room somewhere, trying to decide what an adequate prize would be for a person who lost their first 5 pounds. Just then, the epiphany, lets give them something that is completely useless and can only be shared between them and there current book of choice�perfect!

What will be the reward when I loose 10 pounds��And for losing 10 pounds Stephanie, we present you with this drink coaster, enjoy�.