2 comments so far
October 16, 2003

2:25 p.m.: Possession

I think my office is possessed.

Every time I walk in and sit down at my desk I immediately feel as though the life is being sucked out of me. I get irritated and snappy as though PMS is being pumped in through the air conditioning vent. By 10am I am so listless and resentful toward my job that I am answering emails with a single word or phrase (no closing or name) and letting my voicemail take my calls. My only salvation is my lunch break; as soon as I step outside to go to my car I am revitalized. I always hope that this lunch break feeling will carry over when I get back to work but it never does.

I have come to the conclusion that there are only 3 explanations for why this happens. 1) I am just lazy and do not enjoy any type of work in general, 2) My work environment is so oppressing that it can not help but effect my mood or 3) my office is possessed with some angry and vengeful spirit that enjoys seeing peoples mood fluctuate according to their location.

Although it is more than like that the second explanation is probably the cause of my work related depression, explanation three is a lot more entertaining.

Needless to say I hate my job. I am bored and underpaid. The disorganization and lack of communication in the office has reached such a pitch that often times I feel like standing on my chair and screaming at the top of my lungs. Grad school is looking better and better and my anxiety about being accepted is growing at an exponential rate. I need to get the hell out of here before I kill myself with my letter opener (at least this would break the monotony of the day).