2 comments so far
October 24, 2003

1:47 p.m.: Best Friend Appreciation Night

Tuesday Gretchen and I had best friend appreciation night. We had realized Monday that we had not had a proper conversation in over a week. It is amazing that two people can live with each other, share a room even and go an entire week without speaking.

We began our evening by heading to the local craft store to buy stuff for our Halloween goodie bags we are going to make our boyfriends. It is interesting how girls tend to do little things like this for their boyfriends, and more often then not they get completely ignored. Matt will appreciate it don�t get me wrong, but it will engage him for about 3 seconds and then he will move on. This usually doesn�t bother me until I ask Matt to do a little thing for me like carry some of my things in his pockets and he gives me the �It�s your stuff, you carry it� look that�s when the I mention things like the goodie bags or the plate I hand painted him for Valentine�s Day or the card I left him on his door the morning of his final exams��After all I have done for you you wont even carry my wallet and lip gloss?�

After the craft store Gretchen and went to see a movie Under the Tuscan Sun , or as Matt called it �A good movie for you to see with Gretchen and not me�. It�s good for the spirit to see a girly movie with your best friend. We laughed and gossiped and stopped and played DDR on our way out of the theater. I enjoyed the movie; it made me want to rush to Europe and buy a dilapidated villa�a thought that I have already been pondering ever since I studied abroad. The only thing that seems to be holding me back is the money, something that never seems to effect the characters in movies such as Under the Tuscan Sun. Unlike the main character in the movie (who is portrayed to be down on her luck after her divorce) I do not have a disposable income with which to buy a plane ticket, buy the aforementioned villa and have it completely restored.

Speaking of disposable incomes, my test for admission into Grad school is in less then two weeks and I am not even half way through the math review. The time to start panicking has arrived.