1 comments so far
October 27, 2003

11:54 a.m.: Buff

It smells like fire outside today.

Way back in June, my sister and I got stopped on the pier in Santa Monica and were asked if we could answer some marketing questions about the new Nokia 3660 picture phone. The girl who stopped us was my age and seemed pleasant enough so I agreed. There was also a free gift involved, which only sweetened the pot. My sister and I answered the questions and used the phone to take various pictures of ourselves looking stupid and then filled out a information card so our free gifts could be mailed to us.

I had completely forgot about this entire incident until this Saturday when I received my free gift in the mail. At first I thought it was a T-shirt, but as I began to unfold it I realized that it was entirely too small to be a shirt. It is black with the all-important Nokia 3660 logo embossed on it and it opens on both ends making it resemble a leg warmer. Completely confused I proceeded to read the card that was included. It thanked me for my participation in the marketing research for the Nokia 3660 picture phone (5 months ago) and went on thankfully to explain my free gift. Apparently it is called a buff, made famous by its appearance on Survivor: Thailand, a show that I had never watched. It can be used as a head band, wrist guard or, get this, a tube top. After reading this bit I held up the �buff�, it only measures 21 inches long and 12 inches wide and it doesn�t stretch a whole bunch. I needed to test this tube top option.

I called Matt and asked to come over and help me with an experiment. When he arrived I took off my shirt and had him try to pull the �buff� over my head as to create a striking summer look. Needles to say, the �buff� didn�t make it past my elbows. Now I know I am not the thinnest of people but I couldn�t see how this thing could fit anyone. To top it off it�s too short to be tied around my head and when I stretch it over like a beanie I look like some rap guy�s girlfriend.

Unrelated note: Test is now one week away! I have decided to give up Halloween to study�ah the sacrifices one has to make.