1 comments so far
November 14, 2003

12:38 p.m.: Tackola

I purchased the tackiest gift last night.

My friend Greg is getting married on Saturday and up until last night I had not purchased a wedding gift yet. I figured out where Greg and his wife-to-be were registered, via their wedding website, and trotted off to the mall after work. Unfortunately two of the stores they are registered at do not have any locations near me so I was stuck with the third. I entered the department store and after getting very lost I found the gift registry desk. The woman who ended up helping me, after blessing me for giving her an excuse to sit down, printed out Greg�s registration list.

I have done this now a few times, buying registered gifts for my friends getting married, but this time was different. The list was way weird. These two had the strangest requests for gifts. All their linens were there as well as dishtowels (2), a wisk, cookie sheets, a deep fryer, a griddle and a ladle�that�s it. I am assuming that everything else was on a list at the other stores; at least I hope that that is the case. There was also nothing in mid range in terms of price on the list; everything was either $5.99 or $300. So, what did I end up buying? Seeing as though my bank account is currently non-existent I bought the cookie sheets and the wisk. I suppose this would not be so tacky if the wisk wasn�t a normal wisk but the Chef Wizard , the As-Seen-On-TV wonder that not only can wisk but also can flip meat, drain pasta and an assortment of other amazing feets. It just felt wrong to purchase someone something like this for a wedding gift, but I placated myself by remembering that it was even worse to have this on your wedding registry list in the first place.

At least I got a good laugh watching the girl in gift wrap try to cram the cookie sheets into a shirt box and an even bigger laugh when I called Matt to tell him what we were giving as a wedding gift. He of course suggested that I should have gotten the ladle and not bothered with the wrapping�now that would have been tacky.