0 comments so far
January 11, 2004

7:58 p.m.: Up In Smoke

How I spent my New Years Eve...

My mother, sister and I went to Ohio to visit my Grandparents and Aunts and Uncles. We left a few days after Christmas and ended up being there for New Years. I figured we would spend a quite evening at my grandmothers watching movies or the like...how wrong I was.

I turns out that my Uncle does professional karaoke...yes there is such a thing...and he wanted us to come out and watch him sing on New Years Eve, and my mother and I agreed. Little did I know that I would end up in a creepy little bar in Waterville Ohio with the most mullets I have ever seen. Those that weren�t donning mullets had the biggest, crispiest hair I have ever seen. There were many a tapered leg jean and crop tops, I felt a little out of place to say the least.

There were the fashion no-no�s and then there was the signing. I was surprised that most that performed were not terrible but the amount of country music performed made me sick. Whenever I have scene karaoke in the past there has always been that one guy or that group of girls that went up just to goof off or to sing some 70�s favorite. I truly believed that if I had tried this, this crowd would not have just booed me of the stage but would have used there hunting rifles to end my existence.

By 12:00 there was so much cigarette smoke in little bar that my eyes were burning and watering and I was coughing so much that I believe I dislodged some important internal organ. That is why we peaced out as soon as the ball fell in New York. I woke up the next day with a raspy voice and a new love for California.