0 comments so far
February 25, 2004

3:26 p.m.: Moving On Up

Well I am all moved in. I have officially been a resident of San Diego for a week now. Good news: my apartment is super cute, Bad news: my apartment is super, super expensive, Good news: I am exactly 4 minute�s away form Gretchen, Bad news: I still do not have a job, thus I have zero money.

Funny story: I actually had a job last week. After 4 days though I quit. The job was advertised as a marketing position and turned out to be sales. I am talking direct sales, as in I was standing outside of various Wall-Marts trying to convince little old ladies to spend their rent money on crappy products. I just couldn�t stand it, ethically and emotionally. I have a degree from a major university and have worked for an internationally know book company�in my mind this history did not lead to becoming a solicitor in front of a Wall-Mart. So I left. Now I am unemployed�again. I have a few prospects and two employment agencies helping with the job hunt so hopefully something will come up soon, I can�t live off my savings for much longer.

I am trying to get used to living alone. It�s weird, even though Gretchen and I had completely different schedules and I was alone in the apartment quite a bit I always knew she was coming home, now I walk into my apartment and everyone is home�it�s kind of strange. It turns out that my particular building does not allow dogs, so I decided to get a cat. I adopted a girl kitty the other day and named her Grace. She is short haired so she doesn�t shed much and she is always trained to use the litter box. I like having her around, I feel less alone. I only hope that I do not become one of those crazy cat women that sit around all day watching Oprah, eating chocolate frosting out of the container while surrounded by 50 or so feline friends.