1 comments so far
March 29, 2004

7:28 p.m.: How Random

This always happens�I wait too long to write a new entry and by the time I do get around to writing so much has happened that the idea of writing it all down is as inviting as a shampoo cocktail. So a few brief synopses it is of the past few weeks and then the drama of last night.

The break-up with Matt was difficult to handle but at least it was amicable. We chat online occasionally and I am genuinely interested in where his life is heading and how he is doing. I counted myself lucky that I didn�t have one of those nasty and bitter break-ups that ends up scaring the psyche for years to come. Little did I know that you didn�t have to be dating someone in order to have a breakup worthy of a daytime soap�friends can do just as much damage. I had been trying to contact a friend of mine that I hadn�t heard from in a few months, only to receive the nastiest email I have ever read. He proceeded to tell me what a horrible person I was, how toxic our relationship had been and that he no longer wanted any contact with me. NEWS TO ME! We had been extremely close for the past 3 years, so much so that people we didn�t know just assumed that we were a couple. Granted the relationship got a little weird once I started dating Matt but there was no evidence that he thought I was the Wicked Witch of the West.

I drove cross-country two weeks ago. My good friend Heather had decided to move back to Minnesota to finish school and asked if I would drive out there with her. The trip was more or less uneventful and Minnesota was cold.

Last night, while watching OZ on DVD for the fiftieth time, I heard crying and banging coming from the hallway. I looked through my peephole and saw a girl sprawled out in front of my neighbor�s door. This girl was in fact bawling and throwing g her belongings at the door. After much deliberation I walked out with a box of tissues. Supposedly the girl and her boyfriend, my neighbor, had had a falling out and he left her behind to go to a club downtown with another girl. She was devastated and not a little bit drunk. So I invited her inside, got her a glass of water and found the directions to the club for her online. She eventually made her way to the bathroom and after a few minutes she came out and asked me if I would re-apply her makeup for her, so she could go to the club and confront her soon to be ex-boyfriend. Picture it, my bathroom last night, doing an elaborate clubby make-up job for a drunk girl I had just met, whose name I failed to catch and whose breath was beginning to remove the paint from my walls. I offered to drive her downtown since she had had a few but she started to become belligerent so I showed her the way out.

P.S. � See Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind , it's a fantastic film!