0 comments so far
June 29, 2004

9:03 p.m.: Me Talk Pretty One Day

I LOVE David Sedaris.

On the 24th I traveled to LA to see and hear him read from his new book. This was my third time seeing him, I am slowly entering stalkerland.

It just so happens that I am quoted in the LA Times article that covered the event. The quote makes me sound articulate and knowledgeable on the topic of David and his writing. This is not however the persona I presented to David himself when I went up after the show to get my book signed.

Gretchen, Ashley and I were next to last in a 3 hour line to get books signed. When we got to the front Mr. Sedaris asked us politely if he could take a little break and go outside for a cigarette. We consented and watched him pull out his pack and walk toward the door to the courtyard. He then stopped and turned around and invited the three of us to join him...just us and David Sedaris!

He started chatting about smoking and its many hidden benefits, "sitting next to a person at dinner you hate?...just pull out a cigarette and just like that you have made your escape". He tried to engage us to speak but the three of us were so nervous and star struck that we just stared. Gretchen did break the silence while we were walking back into the building to inform David that his shoe was untied and that he better tie it so he wouldn�t trip. I saw the immediate look of pain on her face just as she had finished speaking, "I can�t believe I told and internationally known author to tie his shoe"!

Luckily, I was bright enough to refrain from telling him that I fall asleep each night listening to his books on tape.